Washington County Hospital and Rural Health Clinic



About us
About us
Medical Grou[p
Auxiliary and Donations
Employment Opportunities
Contact us
WCH is here to help


For almost 50 years, Washington County Hospital has provided healthcare services for the residents in this county and the surrounding areas. Our staff is committed to excellence in service to the community and works every day to improve the health of our patients and community. Our commitment involves investing in employees, technology and equipment, improving the facility, and in developing new programs designed to meet the changing needs of our community.

During the past several years the hospital has successfully transitioned from a rural primary care hospital to the eighth Critical Access Hospital in Illinois. We provide critical access to health care for our community. We have completely renovated our Emergency Department (ED) and have expanded this   area to include a trauma room, a cardiac room, several exam rooms and four extended observation beds within the ED area. This renovation allows the staff of emergency physicians and nurses to care for patients in separate areas maintaining their individual dignity and confidentiality. We hope this renovation will better meet the needs of our emergency and trauma patients. In-house emergency physicians are available 24 hours a day to provide care for your emergency needs.

The hospital partners with SSM Healthcare in St. Louis and Mt. Vernon to provide specialists to come to our local community hospital for easy access for patients. Instead of driving to St. Louis or Mt. Vernonpatients can see their cardiologist, orthopedists or vascular surgeon right here in town. Washington County Hospital is currently licensed for 50 beds; 22 acute care plus skilled care beds (swing beds) and 28 long-term care beds. We employ over 125 highly qualified staff that provides patients a caring environment with high tech equipment, delivered with a personal touch. 

WCH Board


Victor Lopez, Chair
Dan Bronke, 1st Vice Chair
Matt Bierman, 2nd Vice Chair
Audrey Finke, Treasurer
Jim Cange, Secretary
Kurt Elliott, Member
Kim Kell, Member
Bill Manier, Member

Mark McCleary, Member

Administrative Team

Nancy Newby, Chief Executive Officer
Kim Larkin, Chief Information Officer
Elaine Matzenbacher, Chief Financial Officer

Dave Davenport, Human Resources Director

Shelbi McCandrew, Chief Nurse Executive


>  2016 board meeting dates

>  Board of Directors agenda & minutes

®2012 Copyright Washington County Hospital. All rights reserved.